Finalists Go Head-To-Head At Steeltown Film Factory Finale


Last month, three finalists were chosen to move onto the last round of the 2013 Steeltown Film Factory competition. On May 11th, emerging filmmakers Heather GrayGlenn Syska and Dennis Schebetta will see their words come to life as students from the CMU Drama School perform live readings of their short film scripts as part of the Film Factory Finale: … And The Winner Is.

The Purnell Center for the Arts Chosky Theatre will host the event, where a panel of industry professionals will decide which competitor will receive up to $30,000 and a trip to Hollywood. The judges this year are Bling Ring producer, Youree Henley; Michael Killen, owner of Animal, a leading visual effects and media company in Pittsburgh; Roseanne writer/producer, Maxine Lapiduss; and Mad About You writer/producer, Sally Lapiduss. Killen also recently produced Blood Brother, a Sundance-award winning documentary from Art Institute of Pittsburgh graduates Rocky Braat, Steve Hoover, and Danny Yourd.

See a description of each work below:

Life After Deaf, by Heather Gray (Logline: When Donny met Karen, his whole perspective on communication changed. Since then, he has thrived in Karen’s world, while she continues to struggle in his. But Donny finds that he cannot fathom being without Karen and her beautiful culture. This is his life after Deaf.)

The Sketch, by Glenn Syska (Logline: A lonely artist falls in love with one of his drawings, which happens to come to life.)

My Date With Adam, by Dennis Schebetta (Logline: A wedding planner uses Internet dating to find Mr. Right for her upcoming 30th birthday party, but when she has a date with the perfect man, does he turn out to be too perfect, almost machine-like?)

The finale begins at 11 a.m., doors open at 10:30 a.m. Tickets are $10, $5 with a valid student ID, and are available for purchase at the Steeltown website. The event will be held in the memory of Ellen Weiss Kander, Steeltown’s Co-Founder and Founding Executive Director. In addition, the finalists will also compete for the honor of winning the 2nd Annual Ellen Weiss Kander Award.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s